UCTRF Management

The UCTRF is managed by a Board of Trustees.  The Trustees appoint a Principal Officer who is responsible for the day-to-day running of the UCTRF. The Trustees are responsible for all the decisions made in the UCTRF and have to ensure that members' and Beneficiaries’ interests are protected at all times.  The Board has access to retirement industry experts and specialists where necessary.

The Board of Trustees of the UCTRF consists of 14 Trustees. Seven are elected by members of the UCTRF. The other seven are nominated by the Employer.  



Member elected and Employer appointed Trustees also have Alternate Trustees, should one of them not be able to attend a Board meeting, or resign.  The Employer appoints one Alternate Trustee and one or more Alternate Member Trustee/s are appointed from those who receive the next highest number of votes during member Trustee elections. 

The Trustees hold office for a period of three years. The current Board of Trustees will hold office until 31 December 2019.

The Trustees have a fiduciary duty to act in the best interests of the members. 

The Trustees meet at least four times a year. Furthermore, in order to facilitate the smooth running of the UCTRF, the Trustees have set-up a number of Committees. 

The six main Committees of the Board are the: 



The Trustees

The current Trustees are: 

Employer Trustees Mr Smartdryck Abrahams
  Mr Emlyn Balarin
  Dr Joel Chigada
  Ms Joanna Legutko
  Ms Yolokazi Quwe
  Prof. Steve Richardson
  Prof. Anton le Roex
Member Trustees Associate Prof. Phillip de Jager (Chair)
  Ms Judith du Toit
  Ms Lesley Haddow
  Ms Tracy Johnson
  Ms Karin Lehmann
  Mr Hardy Maritz
  Ms Margie Tainton
Principal Officer Ms Penny Fabre
Deputy Principal Officer Mr William Nkutha

The Alternate Trustees

Prof. Jan Glazewski 
Mr Glenn Hurlow

Office Bearers
The Board of Trustees receives assistance on UCTRF matters from the following industry experts and specialists:

Principal Officer Ms Penny Fabre
Auditor PriceWaterHouse Coopers (PWC) 
Actuary Willis Towers Watson
Administrator Sanlam Employee Benefits (Pty) Ltd
Employee Benefit Consultants Simeka Consultants & Actuaries (Pty) Ltd.
Investment Consultants Willis Towers Watson
Registered Office of the UCTRF Physical Address: 
Room 134
Bremner Building
University Crescent

Postal Address: 
University of Cape Town
Private Bag X3

Our Contact Details



021 650 2934

Please send all comments or questions to:

Fund website: